48 thoughts on “Douluo Dalu – 336 – The End, Final Chapter

  1. Thanks for the translation XD

    This was one of the first projects I’ve read, and to finish your translation of the series is a nice end… ya know…

    Thanks for all these years X’D

    Like

  2. I know this wasn’t for us specifically but thank you and thank you for broading my horizons into the wuxia and xianxia light novels

    Like

  3. Thank you SO very much for all the blood, sweat and tears you poured into translating this whole monster of a project. Words cannot expressed how grateful I am that you stuck with it to the end. It took a while, but it’s done, thank you once again for your hard work.

    Like

  4. Thank you so much bagelson! I’m super happy to see the rest translated by you. I’m so used to your translations I couldn’t even consider reading the other translations out there. I super happy and grateful you did this ^_^ Thank you for fully translating this novel, now time to go back and re-read it one time to completion. This book and your translation definitely deserves another re-read. Keep being awesome Bagelson!

    Like

  5. Now that I’ve finally gotten around to finishing it, I feel a little lost. This was the first chinese novel I was introduced to. Hopefully Duoluo Dalu 2 isn’t as disappointing as some sequels tend to be.

    Many thanks to Bagelson and the others for all your hard work!

    Like

    • Not sure if you already started with DD2. All I can say in DD2: the MC is nothing like Tang San and Tang San is nothing like Tang San either. Luckily Tang San is just playing a minor role there.

      I have also read another comment which I totally agree with, the author ruin the sequel by ruining the previous MC. You don’t step on a great character in order to pull another character up. But anyway, that’s what the author is doing already to a certain extent, stepping on Tang San in order to bring up Xiao Wu. What the F with sheath rubbish. She literally did nothing, half the time she’s just chilling as a spirit ring and suddenly she can be the carrier of a GodKing power.

      Like

  6. Haha I can’t believe this has been completely translated at last. I read this before I entered university and now that I’m out of university I can barely remember anything that happened. Not sure if I’m going to read it although I told myself not to read the sequels before finishing this one.

    Like

  7. First of all, I would like to thank everyone’s effort for their hard work in translating this book. It may not be perfect, but who cares! I absolutely loved it and I’m very thankful for being able to read it in English. It always feels weird, after reading a good book it becomes very difficult to pick up another one, but that’s me. Once again, thank you one and all for a lovely journey. Lily

    Like

  8. Bagelson Thank you! i started reading this in 2016 and have been checking every year. This novel introduced me to the Asian fantasy genre and brought me on a long path of enjoyment. Wish you the best.

    Like

  9. Hello buddy,
    It is my pleasure and honored to send you a message.
    Finally I am done reading your novel, it took me a whole week to read this novel. The first part of this chapters I watch it in the form of anime. Your work is beyond my words, I cannot describe it in the words. From the inner core of my heart I would like to thank you. THANKS A LOT.

    Your sincere reader.

    Like

  10. Thank you for everything, just wanted to drop a comment and say how much the work you have done is appreciated, this has been one of the few lengthy light novels that has been translated to the end and that I’ve had the pleasure of reading. Thank you for all these years of continual work and updates!

    Like

  11. I literally waited over two years just for you guys to finish this series. MTL hurts my brain and just pisses me off instead of enjoying it. I’m currently making an EPUB just so I can start it all from the beginning and finish it all at once.

    Thanks for the effort over the last five years or so (at least according to NU you started back in 15) it’s very appreciated I respect the dedication in finishing it even though you guys weren’t making the big bucks.

    Like

  12. I am abit disappointed with the ending. although it is good, but i had hoped that there is another chapter detailing their lives after the war and marriage. Do the rest become gods also? does tang san and xiao wu go back to seagod island with his parents? did he managed to conjourn da ming and er ming like he promised earlier? maybe one more chapter just to give the readers a closure after this long journey and not just end the story at the battlefield itself. Also why didn’t his mom join in the battle? After all she got back her body and her powers, wouldn’t she want to accompany the father and son?

    Also, throughout the story, I am thinking why did Tang San love Xiao Wu so much. Like the jump from sister-brother, all of a sudden undying love. At 6 years old, his resolution to keep Xiao Wu save is due to her accompanying him to his home only to find his dad missing. So it could be anyone who accompanied him then. Really annoyed that after her sacrifice, most of the story, she is just an empty shell, didn’t contribute much. As the main lead’s gf/wife, her presence is just annoying. Even Boss Dai and Zhu Zhu Qing, Oscar and Ning Rong Rong love story seems more believable. To suddenly read that Tang San sprout undying love to Xiao Wu all of a sudden is like, “what the”…… At least Ning Rong Rong and Zhu Zhu Qing’s helped out more throughout this series.

    Like

    • Love is form from diff ways. I think there are really people that once they decided who they want to spend the rest of their life, it will only be that person no matter what. Strong men don’t care about how their partner help them , all they want is to have a home to return to when they needed it.

      Their is a dating that goes: their is always that white moonlight flower In every strong men.

      Like

    • Damn I hate her too! You literally took the words out of my mouth! What I totally dislike is how she turned Tang San into a complete pussy. Previously, he has a clear purpose in life – that is to found his Tang Sect in Douluo Dalu. Then he also promised his dad so zealously that he will help him restore the Clear Sky/Haotian Clan. Suddenly, all these are no longer important compared to reviving XW. Like damn, he completely forgot the Tang Sect that he just established and that everyone was waiting for him to return. How selfish can he be? Or should I say, how dumb can he be? He even had the thought of not killing the Demonic Whale just because his bunny does not like him to kill spirit beast. What the f?

      The way the author contradicted himself is just astounding! Whatever rules or conditions only partially applies to Tang San and none at all to XW. Even Tang San’s mum only had spirit power 70 after her resurrection (which was the same as before) but XW just levelled up like nobody’s business all thanks to some “magic” herbs. How convenient!

      The most absurd part is where she could become corporeal and fight for TS as part of his 6th ring ability but then she needed her physical body to block off the attack from Qian Renxue at TS during their first fight at the palace. Then, she miraculously regained all her power to fight Qian Renxue even using TS’s ability. How in the world can she still use TS’s 6th ring “Nothingness” ability where TS himself was completely drained of spirit power. If TS can’t even gather a shred of spirit power then how can a supposedly weak bunny soul use his ability? Don’t even get me started with the Invincible Golden Body which is also no longer her ability but has become TS’s spirit bone ability. How did she invoke it when she only resides in TS’s ring. And if she already has all her power and ability in her soul then why TS still has to donate his rings to her? Please make it make sense! This is just asspulling to the max.

      I think the last straw for me was when the author made her a Duo God with TS. Does that mean our hero cannot fight without the bunny inside him? This just sounds so wrong. And how in the world, can she even store the mighty Asura God power in her mortal body? TS has to reach level 100 in order to receive the Seagod power which is by default, inferior to the Asura God but again this logic does not apply for the bunny. Is she TS’s warehouse? Even in later sequels, the author still insisted that she’s responsible to store one of the God power for TS whenever he uses the other. They even call her a God King! By what virtue?

      Like

  13. Just to add, even Bibi Dong and Grandmaster’s love story is more touching than Tang San’s and Xiao Wu.

    Honestly, Bibi Dong did so much for the grandmaster – from exterminating those who threaten or bully grandmaster (her teacher and the lighting dragon clan), even choosing to stay by her raper to avoid any harm to grandmaster.

    Like

  14. The long awaited ending and translation has finally been read. Thank you so much for the hard work. I’m thankful that there are translators like you and also conveyed the authors note. People like me who can’t understand Chinese can only rely on people like you. My deepest thank you, I salute you

    This novel is really so good , I don’t care what other people say about doulou Dalu, all I know is that , this book brought me to a beautiful world of fantasy which made me feel like I’m the one cultivating and seeing beautiful sceneries.

    I hope that there’s an English published book of soul land so I can buy and put it on my book collection also a way to supp the author and translators

    Like

  15. WOW. This story sure is engrossing! Thanks to the translators. Just do some work on cohesion and phrasing because i find tang san sounding wise in one chapter and foolish the next. Ehh? Still, the completed work is so much more than what one can ask for. 🎇

    Like

  16. I am finally going to finish this novel 😭😭 going to reread them all. Suddenly thought of the google drive douluo dalu folder back then and that was amazing. Thank you so much for the translations and for keeping it up and completing it 😭 time to binge read ❤

    Like

  17. Thank you for a wonderful translation that allowed me to enjoy the excellent story all the more. Truly, thank you!

    Like

  18. Science and Character Dev rolled their eyes and left the room. Not a fan of submissive giggly girls such as Xiao Wu. So what if she is very pretty and strong, even Fox lady and Angel God are more interesting. Tang San is so great that he is so boring. I don’t get that he suffered much growing up so it’s hard to empathize. Hmmmm

    Like

    • I empathise with you because I hate the bunny too! She’s nothing but a freeloader. She’s easily the worst female protagonist I’ve ever read. Had the author written her differently, like being less childish and impulsive and most of all, not piggybacking on TS the whole time to level up, I’d have liked her. She’s like a leech, just leeching on to TS and getting all the rewards. This is actually such an insult to strong powerful female characters. The author is such a misogynist, why can’t he let her earn her rewards through her own effort which I’m sure she would not do any worse than Ning Rong Rong. All she ever does is to exist, Tang San will do the rest.

      Like

  19. Finally at the end. Thank you so much for the translation! Even tho i can read chinese, reading in english is much faster for me. I came here after i caught up with the released episodes of the donghua and didnt want to wait 1 week for just 1 episode (thats gonna take at least 3 years to finish the story, no go). This is the second chinese novel translation that i have read, first being Grandmaster of Demonic Cultivations. And at this point, i am really impressed by how good the authors are at world and character building. Along the way, through watching random youtube videos and reading comments, i have already compiled a list of novels that i want to read. Yes, me who doesnt even read english storybooks (except harry potter) and used to dislike studying chinese, am gonna start reading again, this time even challenging myself to read entirely in chinese to truly appreciate the story. Ending off, I would like to thank all the translators again for their effort and for re-igniting my passion for reading! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Can you upload the rest of the volumes on the Google drive? It stops at vol 29 and it’s sooo much easier to read using an ereader app than having to click on each chapter individually here. Great job by the way. Your translation is so much better than 90% of the books I’ve read on wuxia world.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Holy crap I didnt realize the last chapter was finally updated!! It’s been a year too! I’ve been so busy this past year. I’m so happy I could finally read the ending!!! Thanks bagelson for translating this!!!!

    Like

  22. Thank you so much. This was amazing. Reading this alongside the manga and donghua version has been so much fun. Can’t wait for all the versions to finish. Shrek seven devil forever

    Like

  23. thank you for all of this super-long translation!!!

    I really appreciate being able to read it – thank you so much for all your efforts! 😀

    Like

Leave a comment